Trusted by over 40,000 Cyclists since 2007

Cycling-Inform Review - What others say

Cycling-Inform Review

I rode the 165km Fitzs Classic. This was the second time that I have done this ride. Your training program was a great assistance. I made it up Fitzs Hill no problem, which was my major aim with the ride.  Considering my other work and travel commitment I was happy with my time. I cannot recommend Fitz’s Challenge of any distance enough to any cyclist. Such a challenging, but rewarding course.

Bruce Rayment, NSW, Australia

I am currently following the PCFC Sub 10 program and all is going well, feeling strong, losing kg and I’m way in front of where I was this time last year.

Jed Harley, SA, Australia

Time for my monthly update. Mt Buffalo down from 1.32 at the end of the 7 peaks season to 1.21 with an average cadence of 75.

Brett Maloney, NSW, Australia

I have improved so many aspects of my riding this year including losing weight, being able to monitor my body and manage my effort better, stronger and more consistent climber. I have also improved results through the year culminating in the last 2 weeks with a 29.1 km average for the Bowral Classic and 24.1 km average for Fitz’s Epic.

Ben Harris, NSW, Australia

 I rode my “fitness test” hill (14km @ 400M elevation) last week in my fastest time in the last 4 years….so progress is being made.

Anthony Brown, VIC, Australia

I am pleased to report that the Ride Daylesford event went well last weekend, even with a stiff southerly headwind for the last 50km of the ride! I managed to improve my average speed for the 146km event from last year.

Matt Croxford, VIC, Australia

Just to let you know I have been very pleased with the program I have been on and have had a great season as a result of it. I have also been very pleased with the strength and mobiliser programs.

Philip Thomas, NSW, Australia

Hi David, Something is going right with the hill climber training programme. Brought my best time for the 1 in 20 in Melbourne down from by over 3 1/2 minutes to in the last 4 weeks!

Vaughn Ackland, VIC, Australia

I got my 1st [MTB] win! I got the start, fought off a couple attacks, actually fell and lost the lead at the end of lap 2. Got up took the lead back on a very technical off camber tree root filled corner and pulled away steadily. Thanks for everything!

Travis Kobush, Missouri, United States

 I’m definitely improving each week. Never thought I would achieve so much in such a short period! Thank you so much for your program and support along the way!

Brooke Vass, QLD, Australia

I’ve certainly experienced significant improvement in the eight months I’ve been training with Cycling Inform and look forward to this continuing.

Leigh Austin, TAS, Australia

As a past member of the program I have gone onto win a QLD Masters 6 Individual Pursuit state championship, Silver in the Sprint and missed a bronze by 0.1 of a second in the Time trial at the Masters State Champs at Anna Meares Velodrome using everything you have taught me. I also won Bronze in the QLD Masters ITT and a Bronze in a composite team with the Ipswich cycling club in Men’s Masters 4-5. Other results have come in Triathlon as the cyclist in a Mixed Masters Team, numerous wins and placings. Thanks very much as you have helped me to achieve my goals.

Robert Partington, QLD, Australia

Hey David,

Well, I did it !! My first 300km in a day and what an amazing day it was. I was very apprehensive about the ride leading up to the event worried I had not done enough and had I followed your plan correctly as I have been travelling a lot from Motel to Motel. But this is the 3rd year of doing this ride (210, 250 now 300) and the training program has worked well. I am happy to say that after 24 weeks of solid training I feel great and stronger and fitter than ever.

I did a couple of practice rides as per your plan of 150km and 175km and even did the new Arthurs seat loop twice just to understand what I was getting myself into and even after 180km I was able to climb Arthurs seat and only miss my PB by 1min which is just crazy. I was really worried about cramping and fatigue but after chatting with you at your place a few months ago when I dropped by after work I put some of the discussion into practice by well hydrating the week before and making sure I was drinking a lot during the ride. I did cramp a little at the 206km mark on the hill up to Red Hill but a simple salt tablet got that under control quickly and I was able to keep going.

Well, the ride went like this.

We got out of the start line in the second wave about 30mins later than the first group and set a comfortable 30-35km/hr down to Werribee. After a very quick stop, we took off wanting to get the next 50km down to Geelong done quickly as it’s the most boring part of the ride. We were cruising along with our strongest riders at the front pulling us along at a cracking 40km/hr. We did have to slow them down a bit because they were getting a bit excited and slowly were pushing it up to 45km/hr which was getting quite taxing. The group backed off and after Geelong, I was able to get my heart rate back down to around the 140’s and had a good 70kms to recover before the boat. We ended up averaging 31km/hr to the boat and got there in 5hrs.

Last year I hated the boat ride as I was cramping a lot but this year I really enjoyed the rest and food and when getting off the boat felt quite relaxed and refreshed. We took it easy heading to the base of Arthurs Seat and as I have said earlier I had a lot of fun climbing it and did a good time. It was getting quite warm by this part of the day which was a challenge. The rolling hills down to Flinders are fun with a really steep little pinch about half way down to Flinders.

>From Flinders we started with the rollers toward Point Leo road when we started the climb. This climb is longer and has some little pinches that go into false flats and then pinches up again. When got to the top we were able to enjoy the decent and I felt like I earnt my downhill. We rolled into safety beach and climbed through the hills coming into Mornington. These climbs were fun and we were able to keep up our average speed.

We dropped down into Frankston were we had a break refuelled and went for broke toward Melbourne with a slight SE tailwind. The 2 strongest riders in our group started pulling us along and we felt like we were flying. Our spirts were up and we were picking up other riders along the way. We started as just our group of 5 and ended up with more than 30 riders behind us. We all came across the line together and we were all very happy with our 28.5km/hr average for the day.

Our total moving time was 10 and a half hours and I am really happy with it. I know that without my team and the favorable weather I would not have been able to do that time but I really enjoyed myself. I have taken a couple of days to recover and now starting to think about what is next and will probably get on the bike tonight and just do a recovery ride in Zwift.

Thanks for your support and for the time you have spent chatting and emailing me. I look forward to catching up next time I am up in Mansfield working.

Regards
David Smith.

David Smith, VIC, Australia

I really enjoyed ATB this year. I certainly felt well prepared using your training program and your other training resources. At the end of the 210km (7hrs. 30 mins moving time) having kept up my food intake and fluid/electrolytes I felt I could have gone much further. I was also happy with my recovery which has been much easier than I expected.

Peter Hamilton, VIC, Australia

Hi David. Yes, l completed the 300km Around the Bay ride on Sunday 7th Oct and really enjoyed the challenge and experience of the distance it had its highs and lows but knowing that l had the right training plan and putting in the miles and time in the saddle was the diff between success and failure. Looking forward to the next challenge.  Thanks for your help regards, Ricky.

Ricky Holmes, VIC, Australia

Had a great Around the Bay Day day, I was down in Frankston by 9 am left the city at 7 am. Rode nice a strong all the way back, stopped for a coffee at Black Rock with a mate. Not bad for a bloke who 12 months ago had a full hip replacement.

Rhys Thomas, VIC, Australia

I reached my first goal this week at the Magnetic Island Triathlon festival. 🙌 The hill that got the better of me last time wasn’t part of the race, however, I rode over it to get to Transition set up and back to catch the ferry home. So happy to say I made it! With a little energy to spare. Thank you for the support on this hill climb, I’m now motivated to keep training to reach the top of Castle Hill. Not only did I achieve that, but my race pace was also faster and in general my cadence is almost always between 90-100rpm, riding is becoming second nature 😊

Brooke Vass, QLD, Australia

Hi David, have returned from Canada after riding from Vancouver to Calgary, including the Gran Fondo,  All went well with the help of your Boot Camp and Training Program which motivated me to join the harder local rides and purchase a Tax Neo Indoor Trainer. The Canadian Rockies are truly a beautiful riding experience. Cheers, John West.

John West, VIC, Australia

September 30th was my 3 Gap ride. I had a shortened training period so my goals were simple: 1) survive the climbs and not embarrass myself doing so; and 2) finish in under 4 hours.

Goal #1: I did not embarrass myself. In fact, the first long climb was a 9.7 km climb with 4-5% grades. Not a bad climb but long. I easily traversed Neels Gap. My cleat was loose on the climb but I stayed in the saddle and tightened it when I reached the top. The KOM/QOM was also not terrible, just under 6 km with fun switchbacks and 6-8% grades. I would have liked to be stronger but was able to easily pass the heavier climbers and reached in 26.53 mins at 11.1 kph (6.92 mph). My overall ride time landed me in 7th place out of 96 females. (6th out of 45 in my age group) Overall in the combined field, I was 96th out of 574 (men and women all age groups). So, not only did I not embarrass myself, I had a respectable showing. Keys to my confidence on the ride were my practice on the actual hills, cadence increase through training, and nutrition. It was key that I had done the training rides and working on my pace. When my legs became tired I was able to spin at the higher cadence and keep rolling as I built my pace.

Goal #2: I finished in 3:59, under 4 hours which meets my goal. If I hadn’t had the issue with my cleat I would have beat that by another 15-20 minutes.

My weakness was climbing out of the saddle and still struggled with this on the KOM portion at 8% grade. However, by kilometer 65 I was able to take the hills out of the saddle and felt much stronger as the ride progressed. I’m ready to tackle these hills over and over again until I get my pace above 16kph.

Overall I felt great on the ride. It was super fun to pass the guys and show my strength on the hills. I frustrated at least one guy who I passed on the KOM and final gap and received many kudos as I climbed. Such an enjoyable ride. Next year I’ll go for faster and stronger! Thanks for your support!

Regards, Stephanie Scarborough.

Stephanie Scarborough, Florida, USA

I’m five weeks into the Aerobic Base – Part one builder program and I’m getting PB’s every road ride so definitely improving.

Brooke Vass, QLD, Australia

Hi David, just some feedback on the Amy’s ride/program. Was about 40 minutes faster than last year. Noticeable strength improvement used small chainring only for one small pinch prior to KOM, otherwise, nothing smaller than 50×28 that included longish stints out of the saddle which felt very comfortable – this knowledge all came from the climbing articles and then doing the vertical metres in training and the intervals inside. Also watched your descending video and used that. So thanks for all the info so far – Bret.

Bret Maloney, NSW, Australia

End of my third week of the Aerobic Builder Part 1 – 12-week program. I’ve been trying to achieve an average of 100 RPM every session, but today’s 002 – E3 Strength Endurance session was the first time I’d reached my goal. I am feeling a bit stronger each week and I’m looking forward to the taper built into week four. I’m really looking forward to seeing where I get to at the end of the 12-week program. Regardless of what the final outcome is, I think that doing a structured program is making a huge difference to my fitness and confidence, especially committing to a program.

Graeme Savage, ACT, Australia

I completed the race on wet roads and with an official time of 3:44:38 with an average speed of 32kmh which is a PR for me. Now packing for a flight to Europe. Thank you for my improved performance and look forward to the next chapter being the L’Etape. I’ll get in touch once back.

Stephen Podmore, NSW, Australia

Just letting you know I enjoyed yesterday’s Amy’s Gran Fondo ride. I am training for my A-Event Half Distance Triathlon later in the year so I used this as a training ride to contribute toward that goal. Therefore no tapering etc. My Intensity Factor for the race was IF 0.81 which was what I was hoping for to satisfy my training requirements. Finished mid-pack overall and mid-pack in my age group. I finished in a healthy manner as well as contributing to my bike fitness. Have recovered well and feel good today. It is such a good ride, that next year I’d like to ride it as my main goal and use the AGF training program in its entirety. Apart from that, it was simply a great ride, in a great area for a great cause!

Jim Taylor, VIC, Australia

The program is going well, the out of saddle pedalling is an area I wanted to work on so your sessions are definitely working me. Matt’s [off the bike] exercises are a challenge, didn’t realise how uncoordinated/unbalanced I have become!

Mark Thiess, VIC, Australia

I rode Amys Gran Fondo yesterday after training on your Qualifier Programme. The day itself was a bit miserable and had many similarities to a tough Giro d’Italia day. Wet, cold and someone even commented that they had seen snow on the side of the road.

This all said I had a very good ride. 8 mins faster than last year with a couple of key segment milestones. Almost a minute faster up the first 10 km climb compared to last year and about 3 mins faster across the overall KoM. That positioned me to be in a strong group along the Great Ocean Road and from there the job was pretty well done.

Some observations about the training programme. It is great to have something so tailored to the event. I have several friends that will do intense sessions, but a bit randomly. It was great understanding the phasing of the programme, and how individual sessions are building relevant strength, fitness or power for the race. Having done the Peaks Challenge Falls Creek programme you can see how the different programmes really emphasise different things. Another observation is the smaller things like the pre-event ergo. After a very light week, this really primed me well for the race.

The good news is that I am sure that even at my age (49) I feel that I have a lot of improvement in me, and the accumulation of training over multiple seasons is really noticeable. Thanks for the programme and help David. Fingers crossed we can have a similar result next year and get me to Vancouver in 2020.

Shane O'Sullivan, VIC, Australia

Had a great Amy’s ride and qualified for the Worlds. I am stoked and so excited. Still on a high after probably my best and strongest ride to date. The training I did with your coaching program really helped especially staying with the bunch on the climbs and tough rollers. Averaging over 32 Kms was a very good result for me.  Looking forward to performing better at Bowral and L’Etape.

Mike Ellis, NSW, Australia
Really happy with my Amy’s ride, 4hrs31 which was a lot faster than I thought I’d go.
Andrew Rees, VIC, Australia

10 minutes off my Ventoux climb time from 3 years ago. 2 best Gran Fondo performances ever on back to back Sundays. Excited to keep going!

Christopher Geiser, CA, USA

I completed the Noosa Classsic 160KM Race a few weeks back and hit my goal of 5:30 despite some very trying conditions. I learnt a lot from this ride as it was my first Gran Fondo which will help improve future rides. So thank you for everything so far, I feel as though I am on track for a good L’Etape ride.

Bret Parkinson, QLD, Australia
I rode the Gravel Grit on the weekend – 91k on the mtb. From the start line, there was in a field of around 80 – 100, about 20% on mtb, with the strong rides all on CX bikes. The started us off, into a narrow chute and having started from the back, I was on the back before the ride got going. I rode around 30kph jumping from one group to the next in the hope of catching the front group on their CX bikes . With limited gearing and a strong headwind, jumping from one group to the next, whilst staying left was hard headwind I got to the first rest stop around 1hr in, and decided to keep going and start the climb on my own. It was 8 – 10 av, with spikes of over 20%, and I rode it at my pace – seated and heart rate at 150bpm – felt good, and within myself, as I rode in front.

At about 2.5hrs in a caught 2 rides on CX bikes and rode with them for 30 mins – before pushing on , on my own and was fortunate enough to catch 3 rides on CX bikes up the road and rode with them until 80k’s in and then push on to ride through the You Yangs on my own – cautious of the descents – as a few rides are come off , I rode within myself and finished alone in 4hr 06mins – not a bad effort I thought considering I rode the majority of the course seated and on my own with limited gearing

It clear that the spinning and the mental strength to not give up during the climbs has improved due to your help with the intervals.

Many thanks again.

Ross Sanelli, VIC, Australia

I had a really great ride today. I felt good all the way through and the ride was pretty challenging. 31.45 miles, 1526 ft elevation gain, time 2:34, speed 12.2 MPH. The three big hill climbs were all personal best times. Thanks for the great help.

Cheryl Swanson , Colorado, USA

Love the Strength training, the mobilisers and the Functional strength exercises as can feel stronger in the back only after a weeks training.

Michael Southwell, NSW, Australia

I’ve been doing climbing training generally with a few of your programs and feel that my climbing has improved particularly over the last 6 months. I enjoy the indoor workouts and have been far more consistent with my training over the winter this year and have targeted 100rpm on my rides.

Mike Kenealy, VIC, Australia

I just want to thank you for putting together the Hill Climber 082 workouts. I’m really enjoying the structure and progression in my strength of the workouts via Zwift. July last year I suffered a heart attack and four days later underwent 6.5 hours of surgery for Quintuple Bypass surgery. I had gone from riding 250kms a week and enjoying climbing Mt Arapiles and the Grampians to struggling to get dressed/showered and walk. After four weeks of only walking 30 minutes a day, I was able to start riding indoors (so as to not compromise my Sternum’s healing) for 10 minutes a day with a max HR of no more than 130 bpm. After rehab and medical approval, I was able to venture on the road again for small rides as my sternum had knitted. Since then, I have been able to get my Cardio fitness back to where it was, achieved my goal weight of 59kgs, but haven’t been able to regain the Glute/Quad strength I had. I really feel repeating your 082 workouts at level 1 and 2 (at present) is rapidly getting me back to and possibly exceeding the climbing strength I had, with the much-added bonus of proper technique and core strength. I’m super motivated to get back to our Grampians Region and Mt Arapiles in Spring / Summer to really enjoy the joy of climbing.

Anthony Heyward, VIC, Australia

The main improvement I am seeing is in my time management. I believe I am getting similar results with less effort which is really nice, this has been achieved by not having to think about what I need to do each ride. Using your weekly schedules is taking a lot of the indecision out of the equation. The information you provide also points out to me the importance of rest.

Warwick Wilson, ACT, Australia

I completed the Copper Triangle in the mountains of Colorado. 79 miles and over 5000 feet of climbing.  I was very pleased with the guidance of the training program and rode the indoor trainer more than I would normally do in the summertime. I finished the toughest climb at the end of the ride (Vail Pass) in good form.  I look forward to re-setting my goals for my next challenge.

Randy Hyre, Colorado, USA

I am very happy with my progress. My simple interpretation of Training Peaks is that my fitness is steadily increasing. I am still mostly on the trainer on “Maintainer 2” plus a few recent easy road rides with my riding group, these group rides will increase. I am finding that my Tacx training rides are getting easier, during today’s 010 – Hill climber cadence, my heart rate did not go over 122bpm even though I upped the FTP by 5%. I have been taking your advice and focusing on technique, and I think my technique is improving.

John Webster, NSW, Australia

Last week was the last week of training Aerobic Base Builder I – Part One, and this week was the first week of training Aerobic Base Builder I – Part One. On Saturday I did my group ride in 55 min 39 sec beating my previous best by 2 min 21 seconds. very, very happy with the result there.

Steve Mayall, VIC, Australia
We did a charity ride this weekend for 400km in total. 200km on Saturday and 200km on Sunday. Aerobic Base Builder 2 was the very reason I succeded on completing this Distance. I have realised practically the main reason for arms rotation during the entire race, your hands dont tire, and there is no numbness. The E3 training I did in preparation for this race was the reason for my success. There was a lot left in the reserve after completion of the race. Thank you Dave your coaching and training material is worth it.
Tladi Molefe, Gaborone, Botswana
I am pretty pleased with my progress as I am riding stronger than I have for some time with less training effort. So that is great! I feel I have really have benefited from the mobilisers and strength training. My hill performance in club racing is significantly improved.
Philip Thomas, NSW, Australia

I am finding that each time I reflect where I am compared to what I had been doing in the past, I shake my head in disbelief that I hadn’t taken this road sooner.

Ross Sanelli, VIC, Australia

Just finishing up the Road Racer II – part one plan. Managed to hold my form coming off the back of PCFC and have had a decent crack at a couple of road races, and some Zwift races as well. Just back from a week riding in the French Alps and ticked Col del la Madeleine off the bucket list as well as a new PB up Le Bettex which was the final climb of the Dauphine. Pretty happy with how things are progressing. Next goal is a qualifying time at Amy Gillet Gran Fondo, so moving over to that plan from next week, but will juggle it around being back in France for July.

Peter Gray, VIC, Australia

Well, I’ve made it to the end of Hill climber II part 1. So what have I achieved? I reckon my power in E1 @100 RPM is up 20% and my power in E3 is up 10%. So that’s pretty good. I’m very happy with the result.

Roger Williams, VIC, Australia

Training going well, have been doing all sessions on the road, mostly early morning before work. Weight is reducing slowly, the hills are easing a little.I am having fun and enjoy my rides. I haven’t started racing yet, as it has been only 5 weeks since I have been back on the bike after nearly 4 months off it, and the first 2 weeks back on was just easy, now that I have nearly finished week 3, another couple of weeks, I feel that I will be fitter for racing.

Chris Dungey, VIC, Australia

I am currently on the ABB program. Noticing improvement. I am also following the nutrition plan. Have dropped 3 kg slowly. Not feeling hungry or deprived. Just right and balanced. Am noticing the greatest improvement just after the rest day. My hill climbing is getting easier and enjoying longer time out on the road. Thanks so much for your help and program. It’s amazing. I’m getting so much out of it. Regards, Paola Henry

Paola Henry, ACT, Australia

HI David. Have finished the twelve week MTB Program Part one and noticed that my FTP has risen from 280 to 300. I am training on a Wahoo Kickr two to three times per week during the week and trying to get out on the road/trails on the weekends.

Tony Clark, VIC, Australia

Just finished my event and thought I’d give you details of how it went, the ride is on my training peaks. The forecasted conditions were perfect, overcast and quite warm, but unfortunately, we started with cloudless skies and hot, which stayed with us for most of the day! The first 42 miles went really well, we had 3 brutal climbs but, as I had hoped for, I rode up all these instead of suffering up them. The last 35 miles I got into a really good rhythm on all the climbs and was delighted with the last 35miles. Delighted with the way things ended up and felt I was much stronger than last year which is down to you. This sportive is ranked in the top three most challenging in the UK, easy to see why with its relentless steep climbing, and I did achieve all my goals for this ride. I’ve just been accepted into the biggest sportive in the UK, Ride London, which is a Gran Fondo on completely closed roads with over 25,000 riders. This event is the last week of July so gives me about eight weeks of preparation.

Kind regards,  Ken Parsons

Ken Parsons, Suffolk, UK

I completed the Convict 100 MTB race about 50mins quicker than my previous best time and I am very happy about that. My wildest dreams were getting close to it and I did that. Felt strong the whole race. I have lost 11-12kgs since Jan as at the start of May and this made a big difference in the Convict 100. I have maintained the weight loss for the last month even though I have dropped back on riding hours significantly. I am maintaining off the bike strength training and can plank like a champion.

James Kennedy, NSW, Australia

Power has come up 10% in E1 @100RPM compared with four weeks ago. Stronger back leading to a more relaxed upper body is having a huge impact.

Roger Williams, VIC, Australia

I’m entering my sixth week of training. Although I had been riding prior to starting my training program, Cycling-Inform has allowed me to be more efficient with my training systems. 1 1/2 weeks ago I completed a 3 day, 250 mile ride from New Jersey to Washington DC. I had no issues and was one of the stronger riders in my group. I was able to continue my training as soon as I returned home and did a high intensity, 53 mile ride yesterday. I’m very satisfied with my fitness level, to the point that I renewed my racing license through USCF and am hoping to start racing in the next month or so. I’ll participate in a local practice criterium in 2 days (first time in 10 years).

Alan Dela Pena, California, United States

Hello David, I’m three weeks into the Road Racer II Part Two and had my 1st race for 3 weeks.I h ad my best result for along time. So your program, although early days, has given me not only some fitness but more so more confidence in my racing especially when the higher graded cyclists come through. Early day yet but feeling like I’m getting somewhere with structured training. Thanks, Peter

Peter Kiel, VIC, Australia

Hi David, we ticked off my first goal, I’ve managed to move up a grade in racing which is something that I’ve been keen to achieve for the past couple of years. The signs from my first race were encouraging and were able to hang in and finish with the bunch. Thanks a heap.

Leigh Austin, TAS, Australia

Hi David. I have recently completed the GOORC 145 km ride and am pleased that I managed to complete the ride 16.5 minutes faster than last year, having used your training since early 2018.

Matt Croxford, VIC, Australia

The Otway 145km went well. I rode with a group of friends (10) which whittled down to 3 by the end. My hill climbing was sen-bloody-sational. At the top of each climb/end of each major descent I waiting for a minimum of two minutes for friends. The last 30km I rode on the front for 80% of the time. As we arrived at the final set of traffic lights entering Torquay I looked back and saw at least 20 people with their tonques hanging out breathing hard. Five of those thanked me for getting them back. I worked hard but never once went into the red. All of your training programs for Hill Climbing, PCFC and GF have made me the rider I am today. I can ride hard chat, give encouragement and enjoy the ride. When groups came to a hill it was as though they had stopped. I can’t ride that slow so would pull out and power away past them. Very enjoyable.

Peter Burke, VIC, Australia
Am now a few weeks in to the Road Race program and had the opportunity to pick up a 3 race license and test myself in my first ever club races this week. Started my week setting a new 20min power PB on my training ride, then raced C grade at the Caulfield Carnegie Anzac Day Classic on Wednesday, followed by the Southern Masters in Drouin on Sunday. Finished comfortably in the bunch at Sandown, then placed 2nd on Sunday. Big week of riding but feeling strong, and the training gave me the confidence to have a crack at the racing.
Peter Grey, VIC, Australia

By Thursday into my taper week I was tired, the taper Ergo session was solid, Fridays two hour E1 ride I was flat, Saturday two hour E1 ride I started to feel good.  Race day was awesome, our bunch wasn’t strong enough to get a winner up, but I felt great, on the climbs I couldn’t believe how easily I was able to ride away from our group, then had to sit up and wait, easily the strongest in my grade.  Thanks David, I have faith in the system.

Leigh Austin , TAS, Australia

I completed B2B yesterday [in a record time for me]. This is the fastest I have had in on any 100K+ ride. The gains came on the climbs and I give the credit to your hill training program. Thank you. The ride itself is very well organised and I would recommend it to everyone. Cheers, Ken from sydney

Ken Cahill, NSW, Australia

I have just come to the end of Aerobic Base Builder II – Part One. I did get noticeable improvements from the program (Strava PB’s and recognition from riding partners) so I know that the program has provided me with good outcomes.

Stephen Manley, NSW, Australia
I feel better prepared for my 14-day 1600km bike tour trip through Spain and I am noticeably stronger and faster than before. My physio is impressed at how much muscle I have built since my hip operation last May.
Dennis Hooper, Auckland, New Zealand
Just a short update .. On Saturday, one of the faster groups I ride with was doing an easy 60k’s @ 1200m as they were racing Baw Baw on Sunday – so I took the opportunity to see where I was at given that their ‘easy’ is usually quite difficult for me. So, I thought it would be interesting to see how I felt after 40k’s riding with this group. I did a very good warm-up – cycling through various cadence and loads. We started the climb and I thought I would stay with them for as long as possible and see how far up the climb I could get before being spat off the back. I thought, in about a 1k I will come to a grinding halt, but I continued. Finished the climb with a PB of 9.55. I am 2 mins off the group best, instead of almost 4mins .. I feel I have at least another 55sec in me without any further development, so I am very much looking forward to seeing that result and other improvements as our journey together continue. Sincerely thank you for allowing me to shine in front of friends. Ross
Ross Senelli, VIC, Australia

I am in week 11 of Hill Climber 2 part 1. I have found it very beneficial and have noticeably improved my speed on hills, helped by shedding a few kilos as a result of the ideal weight calculation you did for me.

Ken Cahill, NSW, Australia
Another PB for my local 7klm climb in the Brisbane ranges has me 16 minutes quicker since Christmas. Totally rapt, I’ve got the 145 Klm leg of the Otway classic later this month, can’t wait to put all the hard work into practice. I’ve lost 7 kilos since Christmas and looking forward to dropping another 15 kg this year.
Steven Dunbabin, VIC, Australia
Good news is I PR’ed Kinglake yesterday I wasn’t out to beat it, it just happened. I took 41sec off my previous time which has stood for nearly 4 years. I felt really strong and I wasn’t fresh either after Monday’s ride.
Paul Anderson, VIC, Australia

Just a quick word of thanks – without the earlier training, the current 083 hill climber and the 086 Over threshold hill climber intervals would not have been possible. The 145 – 150bpm area is getting easier, and I am finding that I am not falling apart from one block to the next – I am remaining controlled and focused to push on through. More importantly, I am absorbing the hurt and learning to breath through and willing myself to the next block. It’s only the beginning, but in a very short time, this structured program has allowed me to complete an interval like these. In the past, I would not have been able to continue – now I am completing the sessions. I very much look forward to moving forward and being able to complete the same sessions at a higher wattage and heart rate. Many thanks for your support & guidance

Ross Sanelli, VIC, Australia
I’ve weighed in tonight after being days away and I’ve dropped 11.7kgs total since 2 Jan, and cracked the double digits!!! Now, 99.5kg. Fat has dropped to 33.1%, down from 34.9% on Saturday (101.8kg). Starting to get quite a few comments about looking leaner, and I’m feeling great!
James Kennedy, NSW, Australia
Hi David, Things are going well. I can feel the training working as certain sessions are getting easier and on the road, I mainly feel I am recovering better from climbs, yet to get up the climbs a lot faster.
Ben Harris, NSW, Australia
In my opinion….and I have been a member for 4+ years now…..this is the BEST VALUE FOR MONEY site for cyclists. For those like me who are only looking for quality and implementable information this is THE best place to be. Great work David and team! Regards, Sri Rajam
Sri Rajam, Tamil Nadu, India
Hi David, I am pretty pleased to have beaten my 10hr objective, and with a time of 9:35, I was 45 mins faster than when I did it [PCFC] in 2014. I definitely improved my times on the flat sections, took shorter breaks, and generally felt stronger. The training plan gave me a good structure to work within and helped me to commit an execute the training required. Thanks for your support and advice. Regards, Peter.
Peter Gray, VIC, Australia

Thanks so much for your training program.  I attempted my first Peaks Challenge on Sunday with the aim of getting through before the 13 hours cut off.  I was stoked to make it through in 12:17 with plenty of time up my sleeve and with legs left at the end.  After using your program in the lead up I was very satisfied to find that I pulled up in really great condition after the ride. Not too sore and no injuries. Really happy with the results and will be recommending you to friends. Ben Richards.

Ben Richards, VIC, Australia
I followed your 10 hr [PCFC] training program for the last 13 weeks doing all the mid week hard sessions and most of the weekend long rides. I rarely reached the weekly Km goal though as I skipped a lot of the recovery rides prioritising the harder sessions. Very glad I signed up to your program as I learned a lot about actual training as opposed to just riding and I got a good result for my efforts. I ended up with 10h 33m and was happy with my ride.
David Taylor, VIC, Australia

I just want to say thank you for your program. It worked really well for me. But with 2 little kids to deal with and my wife’s business I often find I am time poor and really was only getting the Sunday to train. Having a structured program (as well as a smart trainer) meant I could quite easily follow the program from early December 2017 onwards. I was definitely training “smarter” and I was gaining more and more confidence on the roads. I had previously completed PCFC in 2015 with a time of 12 hrs 27 mins. I set a goal to beat PCFC in under 12 hours. I finished in a time of 11 hours 47 mins so was really happy with that. With my result, we can say “your program works”. Thanks – Tony

Tony Moore, VIC, Australia
I wish to express my deep gratitude for your excellent coaching albeit it comes with challenges. I’m a 51 year old ‘Froome wannabe’. The last 6 months have been the most serious in my career and I followed your programme almost 100%. It’s not easy getting on the Wattbike and cranking your sessions alone! But It paid off. I shattered my PB for this race by 12 mins and was the best finisher in my club. All the tell-tale signs were there this year with my HR dropping by 8%, power increasing and dropping top club riders who ride twice as much as me. Thank you again, it’s really appreciated. You are a great coach.
Suren Sing, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa

Hi David, 9hrs 46 mins so well happy, my fastest Peaks Challenge Falls Creek time yet, that was number 4 and number 8 for all Peaks challenges! Thanks again for all your help. Guy

Guy Streeter-Smith, NSW, Australia

Hi, please pass on to David my thanks for the pearls of wisdom he shared and how nice it was to catch up with him in bike check on Saturday [at the Peaks Challenge Falls Creek]. I was happy with my 11:44 time. Can’t help wonder what may have been possible if I could have made the boot camp and stuck to the training schedule. All the best – Tony Vink.

Tony Vink, QLD, Australia
I’ve been doing the sessions in the morning, and it has been helping with the weight loss. Although I have not yet spent too much time in the 150+ bpm zone – when I do get there, it’s a shift I no longer notice. Before, when I had that crept from 140 + to beyond 150+ bpm, it was very noticeable. Now, I finish a session, and I am surprised to learn that I actually spend time at 150+. I am finding it very comfortable at 200w at any cadence, and I am starting to get better at holding 225+w at a cadence of 90+ rpm.
Ross Sanelli, VIC, Australia
I’ve been a Cycling-Inform member these past few months – the tips, posts, videos etc that you’ve been posting have been great. I’ve been building up off a low base for Peaks Challenge Falls Creek and now feel a whole lot more prepared. I’m in my late 50s so probably an 11hr time is about right for me. The tips you had on descending were super useful – made a big difference immediately.
Daryl Marchant, VIC, Australia
James Kennedy, NSW, Australia
Ben Harris, NSW, Australia
Kim Lark, NSW, Australia
John Joass, NSW, Australia
David Petersen, NSW, Australia
Michael Hoyle, VIC, Australia
Leigh Austin, TAS, Australia
Tony Slimmings, Leeds, UK
Martin Rumsby, SA, Australia
Hugh Beveridge, WA, Australia
James Kennedy, NSW, Australia
Geoff Monaghan, SA, Australia
David Smith, VIC, Australia

G’day David, after finishing the above programme last weekend I had the rare opportunity to test out whether I had improved any, firstly though let me say I started the above programme immediately after completing the 12 wk hill climbing part 1. I took part in a Vets 66k handicap on the weekend, 3 x 22k laps, 4 guys in my group and on 24min mark, most bunches in front and behind us had at least 6 riders, the wind was horrible and increased in force as race went on, after first lap we had cut the lead of the bunch in front of us by half, halfway round 2nd lap one of our bunch dropped out so we’re now three riders, end of the second lap we’ve picked up all the riders in front of us apart from one, halfway round third lap we drop our third rider and we’re now two, we catch the limit marker about 4 k to go and we’re leading, wind is now ridiculous and we get passed by 3 A graders about 2k from finish but we get onto them, unfortunately at this point my adducter seized up but fortunately for me apart from the A graders we have kept all the riders behind us so far back I cannot see them. I just could not have done this six months ago before I started on your programmes, I was really really chuffed with the ride and the fact that I never missed one turn, even into that horrible wind, and I’m 70 yrs old so giving away about 10-15 yrs on everybody in my group and the A graders must have been in their 40’s but I still feel I can improve a bit more. I also think the programme has helped me on the mental side of things cos you need to concentrate and dig in a bit on those 5 min ergos. Now I’m onto the Hill Climber part 2 as we’re heading to Italy later this year to climb Mt Etna, a big thanks again David it has been great so far.

Michael Joss, VIC, Australia

I’ve come from a tri background and getting back into the scene after a break, though just focusing on the bike for now and starting from building the base back up in a structured way. It is good to be able to get some good volume in on the bike and the improvement has been noticeable even after just 3 weeks. The mobilisers have been gold and I think Matts Strength video is just enough.

Steve Edwards, NSW, Australia

A quick check-in. I’ve upgraded to the 8-10hr Leaner Cyclist program and have managed circa 180km for the last three weeks. Really starting to see the benefits.
The stretches and mobility exercises are having a subtle but noticeable effect. First longer ride of the year last Saturday – 80km with about 600m climbing. Best I’ve done for over 6mths or so. I hit 7kgs loss today since 4th Jan – stoked! I am starting to enjoy the hills again. I’ve cut out all of the crap – only eating good food in moderation. I feel lighter on my feet and have way more energy and feel mentally much more positive and in control. My Strava Fitness curve has gone from 14pts on 4 Jan (almost an all-time low) to 53pts as at last night and improving 6-8pts per week. I should be on fire for the Convict 100 in May.

James Kennedy, NSW, Australia

Everything is pointing to improvement. Average speed keeps going up, hills are easier to go over, and my weekly mileage keeps going up slowly.

Michael Kennedy, VIC, Australia

I signed up for the boot camp to kick start my motivation four weeks ago. I’ve lost 13kg since the holidays and gotten my fitness and power up over that period.

David O'Connor , NSW, Australia

I have a hill in the Brisbane ranges out the back of Werribee that is just over 7 km long and Strava reckons the average is 2.5 %, the truth is that the pinches top out at 11 %. Since Christmas, I’ve lowered my PB by 12 minutes over the 7 km climb! I’m a believer.

Steven Dunbabin, VIC, Australia

I’m feeling a lot stronger than last year David, I’m sticking to the training… I’ll finish the Peaks Challenge Falls Creek ride this year!

Andrew Gibbons, VIC, Australia

I raced yesterday with the West Coast Masters and placed 4th in the C grade.

Dave Morris, WA, Australia

The programme you supplied made me stronger and more confident. I’m much fitter and climbing better than when I did the AUDAX 200km in 2015. Your programme worked for me and I enjoyed the mix even the Mountains in Lao. Thanks again for your programmes and assistance.

David Cairns, WA, Australia

David, I noticed I had made an improvement in a really short time but what really proved it was my friends also noticed.

Julie Laine, QLD, Australia

I’m halfway through my second year of cycling, this was my first Audax. I completed it in 10hrs 10mins, which I was very pleased with, a good foundation for the up and coming three peaks challenge.  Taking on the event on my own meant there was a considerable amount of time on my own, which wasn’t an issue apart from the last 10km of Falls Creek. I found it tough going, especially without anyone nearby to hang onto. Although a coffee at the summit and I felt a world beater again  The climb home up Tawonga was hot but the feeling at the top was worth it. The training has improved me as a cyclist in terms of technique and strength, I’m certainly more confident.  Andy.

Andy Gibbons, VIC, Australia

Thanks for the feedback and constant encouragement. It is making a big difference! I weighed this morning, a 6.7kg loss since 2 Jan. I’m aiming for -7kgs by the end of the week. Happy days!

James Kennedy, NSW, Australia

I love your program, being able to train & exercise when it suits me, I am fitter than ever & love cycling in the mountains.

David Drysdale, VIC, Australia

I have been working on the sub 10hr Peaks Challenge program. Over the weekend I did the Cadel Evans Peoples ride which while it does not have a huge amount of climbing, is a challenging course with some nasty pinches and rolling hills. I managed to increase my avg speed by about 4kph on last year, and was dropping the rest of the group on the climbs. Feeling much more confident for PCFC now.

Peter Gray, VIC, Australia

I’m looking forward to the Audax ride. Just wanted to let you know that 3 big things for me from your program have been: (1) Grounding myself on the seat to improve pedalling technique. I’m amazed how well this works – smooth, continuous power without consciously thinking about all the different parts of the whole pedal stroke. (2) Emphasising the importance of rest days. (3) The tapering program for the last week. Lots of other good stuff too but I was doing a lot of it already. Definitely want to continue improving after this weekend.

Mark Hibberd, VIC, Australia

I don’t know if it’s related but some of my old speed and acceleration are back and, after about three weeks without a serious climb, this weekend’s climb up Mt Keira was “easier” than it’s been in ages and I put up a solid time on the toughest part. I’ve particularly noticed a marked improvement on maintaining good speed through short false flats and lower-gradient sections.

Walter Davis, NSW, Australia

I must say that I’ve always been drawn back to your site after purchasing a few of your videos and finding them really helpful and noticing some good improvement. It’s easy to see why you’re a very successful coach just in the level of detail you go into, and also your ability to always look at the bigger picture. I think your training programs are uniquely placed to train for the one off iconic Sportives we have in the UK. I’ve always found it so hard to get a really focused training plan to take on these really tough and challenging Sportives and I think that is what draws me to your training plans.

Ken Parsons, Suffolk, United Kingdom

Last week I rode from home to Olinda via the 1 in 20. (75KM return with 1200m of climbing). I attacked the Strava segment to Olinda and pushed it and did my best time. The last 3 rides up there I have done PBs. As you say I was “lost in the ride” climbing concentrating on each corner and my HR and although I was at threshold I loved it. Before I knew it I had finished the climb and it felt great. As you get fitter these rides don’t scare me as much as they used to do.

Tony Pignata, VIC, Australia

I threw in an Everest on the weekend for a bit extra in the climbing department. 19 hours, 335kms later and success  couldn’t have done it without the 3 peaks training program.

Peter Wadley, VIC, Australia

I am enjoying the Pt2 of Aerobic Base builder. The 081 and 085 sessions and video on the trainer are great. Its amazing how much confidence it gives me on hills now to stand and power for 1 or 2 mins at 60-65 rpm then back to seated and lower gear.

David Lucietto, NSW, Australia
I’m glad to have a trainer and the programs to use in conjunction with it. Car driver behaviors always deteriorated around Christmas and Easter do being able to train “off the road” is welcome at this time of year. I think David’s training programs are great – can definitely see the numbers getting better and am feeling stronger. Have been a client now for about 6 months and recommend the program to my mates
Tony Smith, VIC, Australia
Just settling in to the program and have had to shuffle sessions around a bit, but pleased to report I achieved a number of PB’s doing some climbs in the Dandenongs on Friday along with some new power pb’s according to training peaks.
Peter Gray, VIC, Australia

I have been trying hard to pedal in circles which I know I haven’t been doing consistently Prior to starting your programme …it is making a huge difference.
I am feeling very happy with myself as I feel my riding has improved already.

Robert Bush, NSW, Australia

My bike riding has improved and I am a lot more confident climbing and more endurance generally. My cycling has improved in all areas.

Julie Dart, NSW, Australia

Hi David I’ve successfully completed LeTape and met my goal of Riding Beloka – no walk of shame this year!!!

Andrew Orr, VIC, Australia

Last weekend I completed the first 4 weeks of my Program. Overall, I have been pleased with the Program and my ability to perform at the level that I have. My 100 km ride ( actually 97.1 km ) on 25 November , was the first time I had ridden that distance  for over 5 years. My cadence work has resulted in me now being able to do the 5 minute intervals at 100 rpm, something that I have never done in the past. So overall I have been pretty pleased with myself.

Ron Young, QLD, Australia

Hi David, Yes I completed L’etape in the very average weather conditions. It was hard mentally for the first hour, as I don’t normally ride in the rain and I had to get my head around that. Once I did, I rode well and enjoyed the ride up until the last 15-20km where I was starting to feel the cold. I gave Beloka a good crack and got a time that I was very happy with around 16 minutes & 45 seconds. Out of our group of about thirty of us, I was the 4th best time up the mountain. I can definitely say that your training programme that I followed fairly diligently was a huge reason I managed to get through the ride feeling ok and having the strength to get up Beloka etc. Once again thanks for your programme, it kept me very motivated.  – Neil Borland

Neil Borland, NSW, Australia

I am always so overwhelmed with the passion and personal approach you have David to any question or advice put forward to you. Thank you for all that you and your team do. Dave Keen

David Keen, NSW, Australia

Hey David, Just a quick note to let you know how much I appreciate your training program…smashed Bowral Classic in fact felt like I could have done the 160 kms.
Really confident going into LeTape this weekend.

Tom Aravanis, NSW, Australia

G’day David,
FYI I undertook yr training programs cos I was fed up being left behind when the bunch was going up hills or put the foot down on long rides, since I just completed the above programme thought I would comment on my progress and just want to say how pleased I am with the all round improvement in my riding, measuring the indoor stuff was easy as I could see I was using bigger gears and also using more resistance, outdoors was more difficult as I ride by myself most of the time so I timed myself up a short hill with 5-6% grade and the time it takes me to complete Kew Boulevard, both these bits of road I have been riding on for yrs, pleased to say that I saw a 18% improvement on the hill and 15% improvement on the Boulevard time, also I rode a crit on the weekend and very early this yr this bunch were dropping me regularly but different story this time I was very very comfortable in the bunch and actually placed, so tks for things so far and I’m now onto the speed session and hoping for similar improvement over the next 12 weeks. Two other things:

1) while I did not join yr “leaner cyclist” I did take yr advise and I lost 5kg, looking to lose another 2kg before Christmas,

2) at 69 years old I was the oldest guy in my bunch in the crit so yr program works for all ages.

Michael Joss, VIC, Australia

I feel a lot fitter, I did the 500m of climbing session on Zwift the other day. Just powered up the 3km hill, Watts at 210, HR about 170 and cadence around 105 and just kept it there for 15mins. Took about 3 or 4 mins off my best time and felt fine.

Dave Lucietto, NSW, Australia

Hi David, As more of a recreational cyclist, I attended Cycling – Inform’s boot camp with the goal of pushing myself to ride longer distances over terrain I’m not accustomed and to work on developing my “mental toughness”. With the support of your team, I achieved these goals. I’m still on a high after riding Mt Buffalo and making it to the top of Falls Creek and I know that I will continue to draw strength from these amazing experiences for as long as I continue to ride my bike. What also contributed to making the boot camp so enjoyable and satisfying was the comradery that evolved from day 1 with your team and fellow cyclists attending the camp. I found that no matter what your goal was or your cycling background, everyone was made to feel welcome. I particularly appreciated the efforts your team went to in providing a debrief prior to each day’s ride. Instruction on how to descend safely and a reminder about the etiquette of bunch riding were very timely. The boot camp’s program is very well structured and organised and as for the location, you couldn’t find any better than beautiful Bright! Kind regards, Catherine

Catherine Hume, NSW, Australia

David,  I found the Boot Camp excellent. I appreciated the instruction and support that your team provided, and the experience gave me considerable confidence to attempt the Alpine Classic in January. I would definitely recommend the camp to other riders. Thanks again, Regards, Chris Gebbie.

Chris Gebbie, VIC, Australia

I have thoroughly enjoyed the 4.5 days camp.  The best parts of the camp were sharing the challenging peak climbs with the group members and gaining new knowledge through the evening seminar sessions as well as talking to David, Jodie and the supporting crews. Hearing different experiences of other riders were really interesting too. I was very happy with my achievement of tackling three peaks (Mt Buffalo, Falls Creek via Tawonga Gap and Mt Hotham) in three days in row. Without the support of the camp team, I wouldn’t have been able to make this achievement. I would strongly recommend this camp to any keen recreational rider. Warmest regards, Yuki.

Yuki Davidson, VIC, Australia

I was a little bit hesitant to come to Boot camp as I thought it would only be for the more “elite cyclists”. As a 69 year old I didn’t think it would accommodate my older legs. However, it was a great relief to find that both David and Jodie were very helpful and I had no cause for concern. The ride up Buffalo in overcast, but dry conditions was fully supported all the way and graded cyclists into roughly even groups. The next two days, to Falls Creek and up to Mt. Hotham, although quite challenging, were very manageable and a provided great sense of achievement….I highly recommend the massages at the end of each ride to help refresh the legs for the next day’s efforts.  The support staff with each group, highly competent cyclists in their own right, understood the needs of us amateur riders and helped with technical advice in both climbing and descending and provided motivation when the going got tough.  I think Cycling- Inform is quite a unique group and has a genuine interest in helping cyclists of all categories to achieve their goals….I would definitely do another Boot Camp! Regards,  Scott Fowler

Scott Fowler, VIC, Australia

Hi David,

Having completed 7 peaks last summer, which also included the Bicycle network Three Peaks event in March this year it is of no surprise to me of how great it is to ride this region with great views, and was impressed that you can schedule the rain to only fall as we were eating breakfast on day 1, and then be replaced by clear skies.

I came to the Bright Boot Camp with basic knowledge built by my (and friends) trial and error, but now have an expanded toolkit of knowledge to draw on in relation to ascending and descending techniques gathered over the last four days. As a result of changing my braking technique slightly descended with more control, while increasing average speed = a very wide grin at the base of Hotham. Following up from the seminars it is time for me to put more substance to my goals, as my initial was to be fit enough to ride up Falls Creek in a reasonable time (for me), which I have now done.

The support riders on camp were great and really enjoyed the advice and discussions (and sometimes distractions from the harder parts of the climbs) when out on the bike special thanks Kevin for trying to keep me on target coming up Tawonga Gap on the way back from Falls Creek _ this was a big day !

Great support group, excellent location, and rides are fantastic.

Stephen Wood, VIC, Australia

Hi David, Catherine and I are still fizzing about our experiences riding with your team at Boot camp last weekend. We both really came into the weekend with simple expectations of enjoying a relaxing cycling holiday. I also wanted to get in some solid preparation for LeTape in 2 weeks time. Your team enabled us to achieve both of these things. Summary of my personal highlights :-

· Seeing Cath conquer Mt Buffalo, Tawonga Gap and Falls Creek off a very limited preparation

· The great camaraderie amongst all participants (and support staff) during the camp

· Going up Mt Hotham for the first time and setting PBs on Mt Buffalo and Falls Creek, so I feel in great shape for a good ride at LeTape

· Your coaching advice was very informative and useful. Post LeTape, I’ve set a new goal of doing Peaks Challenge again (time goal of < 8:50 in 2018 to be specific!) and will follow one of your programs through till the event.

I think you have nailed the Boot camp experience for all participants.

Thanks again for a fantastic weekend. (BTW. The weather could not have been more perfect.)

Well done. Regards Steve.

Steve Hume, NSW, Australia

This past Saturday I went out to do a somewhat significant climbing. I had done this ride a few times in prep for the Death Ride this past July. However, after five weeks of doing (most) of your training program, the results were much better. In addition to the quicker time, I felt great during the entire ride!

David Scott, CA, USA
I can say that through your sessions and coaching, you have helped me tremendously so much so that my colleagues say Im doping.
Self praise is not good, but with your coaching and doing half the amount of training with my club, I race with them with ease and drop them on climbs like Froome!!
Suren Singh, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
I feel a lot fitter, I did the 500 m of climbing session on Zwift the other day. Just powered up the 3 km hill, Watts at 210, HR about 170 and cadence around 105 and just kept it there for 15 mins. Took about 3 or 4 mins off my best time and felt fine.
Dave Lucietto, NSW, Australia
Hi David, I would like to thank you. The support team for providing a great training program for the Bowral Classic & it was really good to meet you & Jodie in person in Bowral. I have only been cycling for 18 months & prior to signing up for your program, I had never undertaken any structured training & the biggest ride I had completed was only 76km with 620m of climbing. Despite being unable to do the last 4 weeks of the program due to illness, due to all the hard work in earlier weeks I was able to start the event confident that I would be able to finish. As I had only fully recovered from sickness a few days before the event, I took it easy until the 2nd rest stop at the 85km mark & then I rode as hard as I could for the last 35km. In the end, according to my Garmin I completed the 117km in 4hrs & 20 min at an average speed of 27km/h & I still felt strong at the finish. Official results show that I finished 194 / 430 in the 50+ category & as this was my first ever event, I was more than happy with this result. I really enjoyed the challenge of your program & I am sure I could not have achieved the same result without it, so once again I would like to thank you. All the best, Andrew.
Andrew Brady, NSW, Australia
Hi David, I have been taking your advice and just trying to relax and enjoy my cycling after the ATB. I have recovered a lot better than I thought and even last weekend went out with my social bunch ride and did a PB up a hill climb that I have been struggling to beat for months (and I did not feel like I was pushing it). On the Monday I went and helped a friend who was doing an Everest and did 750m elevation climbing and descending officer road for 1.5 hrs and trying to help him keep his mind of the pain. He completed the Everest in 17hrs and I was really happy that I was able to ride with him for a couple of hours and help him as much as I could.
David Smith, VIC, Australia
Thanks for the contact David. Everything is going well, completed the Sorrento return in Round the Bay, gave me a lot of confidence completing 200 km. It was also novel to ride a distance on the flat. I’m certainly feeling stronger than a year ago. I start my Aux Alpine training on Monday. Loving the midweek ergo’s, I certainly feel the difference at the weekend. Andy.
Andrew Gibbons, VIC, Australia

Hello David, Just a note to say many thanks for your indoor training video programs!! I had a fantastic 250km ride around the bay on Sunday and would never have achieved the time I did without them. Cheers Jon

Jon Gooding, VIC, Australia

Well, going into my 3rd week of training and I feel like I’m starting to see some dividends for the hard work. Notice that my upper body is more stable on the bike, my cadence is up, speed is up even the climbs seem to be much easier. Doing the Bowral and L’eTape Australia so can’t wait to see how I compare to last year, when I just hopped on the bike and just rode.

Tom Aravanis, NSW, Australia

E1 on the flats and into E3 (and VO2max at times) for the hills. I took 5 mins of my time for the ugliest hill I have here, Glenbawn Dam climb. It is only 1.8km but I got there in under 10 min which is great.

David Lucietto, NSW, Australia

Hi David,

Thanks for the training programs and tips along the way to the AGF, my time wasn’t close to my goal although I did PB’s all the way and only managed less than 100 kms per week; also rode with a close friend and his first fondo for the last 40klm. Finishing with a great mate side by side was awesome and worth all the tea in China. Looking forwards I am going to the TDU in 2018 for the 9 days so another program would be terrific.

P.S. The benefit of having your training program for me was knowing I was maximising my 100 km per week time on the bike even though it was less than half of the suggested.

Cheers Roger

Roger Mcgaw, VIC, Australia

I’m still working toward the masters games time trial. It’s going well, club 20km time trial a couple of weeks ago, 20 minute FTP was up and I did it in 33:46. Not bad given I haven’t TT’d for nearly two years.

Steven Hart, TAS, Australia

Now as ready for Amy’s as I’ll ever be. Zwift in combination with a Wahoo Kickr Snap reckons my FTP has gone up by 49 watts since starting – that can’t be right because at least some of it has to have come from more aero wheels I gifted to myself  . But I’m stacks fitter, stacks stronger, definitely faster and climb much better than I used to. Thinking I’ll do the 12 week hill training session after Amy’s and Around the Bay – that is still by far my biggest weakness. A big thanks to David – you rock mate!

Tony Smith, VIC, Australia

Hi Dave, I’m really enjoying your hill climbing program, I’m feeling my hill climbing is really getting stronger.

Greg Doherty, NSW, Australia

I have really enjoyed the [Hill Climber I Part 1] program – and feel a lot stronger on the bike.

Damian Luppino, VIC, Australia
All training sessions have been fantastic (heart rate is a good E3 and sometimes Vo2…kills me, but really good. On the road, I can now ride 1,400m ascent @25km/hr comfortably and a good 28km/hr for 750m…very mindful of technique.
David Keen, NSW, Australia

Too windy today to be outside so did today’s session on the Zwift hilly route.  50km and 612 metres. Zwift reckons my FTP has gone up by 11 watts since starting with your Amy’s program – woohoo!

Tony Smith , VIC, Australia

Just a quick thank you! I’ve been doing the Hill Climber training program. Due to working interstate often etc I haven’t been able to follow the program to the letter, however, I have noticed a huge improvement in my riding towards the last three weeks of the program. Yesterday I completed the Adelaide Dirty Dozen ride, 140km with 4,000m of climbing and there is no way I would’ve finished this without your training program, so happy I joined up. Gives me much confidence for my PCFC goal! Thanks again.

Jed Harley, SA, Australia

Hi David, my training up to date is going well. A group of six of us went out for Bobbin head hills on the weekend which worked in well with my training. Let’s just say there were a few mouths wide open when I reached the top of both mountains first by a good distance. lol. Enjoying the program.

Neal Borland, NSW, Australia

Did Izoard (both sides) and Agnel yesterday. Insane ride! But finished strong.

Paul Cannon, Gauteng, South Africa
The work we have been doing must be working a treat because lately the 10min 328W sessions have got a lot more manageable and the recovery rides have increased 20W for the same HR. The legs are definitely feeling stronger which is great.
Adam Nelson, NSW, Australia
Spinning like a machine…like Froome on the Pyrenees!! Mission accomplished, met all your targets, at 95%!! My max rpm was 170… could have gone higher… next time. Saturday, covered 110km with 1000m of climbing. I pulled the bunch and gave them stick!
Suren Singh, Kwazulu Natal, South Africa
Hi David, Phil and I completed the Haute Route Pyrenees today. Your training plans were vital in my preparation- thanks !!!
Warwick Lee, NSW, Australia

A mate conned me into doing Amy’s – I didn’t read the small print so missed the small details (2000 metres of up). Then saw David on Facebook and here I am. I’m doing the Amy training program which I’m finding to be brilliant. In less than a month, I’m much fitter and stronger – I’m converted.

Tony Smith, VIC, Australia
Training is going well and I can see improvements in my fitness and strength on the bike already. My split times on my usual rides have had a steep improvement.
Paul Kamerman, WA, Australia
Thanks for your program David – I am seeing big improvements and my weight is in free fall. I’m now the lightest I’ve been this side of 40. Gotta love that.
Tony Smith, VIC, Australia
Hi David, have to share this, went out and did my 2×10 and 1×5 time trial efforts this morning. My FTP is about 240. I decided to push a bit above it on the first interval I pushed out 275w for 10 mins. Other numbers for 60 and 90 are not too bad either. I’m also 2kg lighter than this time last year. Feeling pretty stoked! Thanks David.
Steve Hart, TAS, Australia
I joined Cycling-Inform well over a year ago to prepare for a week riding the Dolomites which was just awesome. The training helped immensely so I’m back on the wagon or in the saddle to prepare for the next adventure…. probably a Peaks Challenge but a cruisy AGF first!
Serge Bobbera, VIC, Australia

Hi David, It’s week 4 and I’m noticing a definite improvement in strength, more than I’d anticipated, to be honest, so very happy.

Steve Hart, TAS, Australia
I am about to start week 6. I am over 50 and do 3 weeks and then a recovery week. Every week I have done this I have posted a PB. Most times, it is on the same segment from the week before, so I know I am seeing gains.

My long rides have improved the average speed by 1kmh.

Last Saturday I slept in and did 7 x reps of the 10km Mt Coot-tha track. My PB has eluded me for 6 months. But I cracked it by 30 seconds on the 2.6km steep piece.

Interestingly, some rides I feel so fatigued and think I will be a little upset when I see my times. But they always are showing PBs. I am getting much stronger.

Dave Hilcher, QLD, Australia
Hi David, I love the program, I am stronger, fitter and am climbing hills better than I ever have. I look forward to my goal of doing the 7 peaks ride.Thanks so much. Your program is just what I needed.Kindest regards, Julia.
Julia Wills, NSW, Australia
Hi David, I just completed the 2017 Etape Du Tour – Stage 18 Briançon / Izoard. The 2 climbs Col de Vars and Izoard were long but I cycled all the way (whereas lots walked)The descents were a big scary with amazing speeds but easy to go wrong. I limited my speed and its easy to get blown sideways. I did it on a 36 / 29 but ideally and lots had a 34 / 32. Thanks for your support.
Thomas Curley, Ireland
Hi David, Thank you for your help. I did the Haute Route Dolamites and had a memorable experience. I felt like I nailed the training. I placed 4th in my age group in the time trial up the Stelvio and an overall top 75 place over the 7 days. Since then I did the Bowral classic and I finished 4th in the 55-59 age group with a time of 5 hrs 28 m in the L’Etape snowy mountains. I was very happy with the race. I’ve just recently finished the Velothon 3 day event on the sunshine coast.
Phillip Parle, NSW, Australia.
About to start week three of the Hill Climbing program II (part one) after two month off (been back on the bike 3 weeks as the first week was trying to get back into getting used to riding bike – painful). Definitely seeing improvements and am able to recover pretty well even after longer rides with little bit of sore legs in the morning that dissipates quickly after getting on the bike.

Indoor trainer work out appears to be very helpful – I especially see improvements in sustaining longer efforts at E3 especially on flats. Am able to climb ok with the except when grades start to pitch to 8%..anything below I can hold comfortably at the upper end of E3…

Jan Jasiewicz, QLD, Australia.
What’s one of the best things about living in Tasmania, we have plenty of hills. So after a month of planning some friends and I headed off on a cool winters day to recon part of the PCCM course, Devonport, Cethana, Spellman’s loop. Of the group, there were two PCCM past finishers, a Wiley race veteran and myself, a newbie. Throughout the ride I kept going through all the principals David has been teaching over the past 11 weeks which help me tackle 3 of the big climbs, Melrose, Cethana and Spellmans totaling 2500+ meters. My co riders all commented on how strong I finished the ride through the rolling hills between Sprent and Devonport after Spellmans, which I all put down to the structured training program. The cadence work seated and standing, the pedal stroke, the strength and aerobic training, relaxed breathing and upper body all worked and continues to make sense. On review of my times up the climbs it was interesting my cadence averaged 66 up Cethana and 57rpm up Spellmans, for 29 mins and 17 mins respectively, again assisted by the hill climber and fruit bowl training videos that I have been recently doing. We completed the 125km in a little over 5 1/2 hrs, which I have gain valuable confidence and strength from, erasing any self-doubt I had in not being prepared. With this program, I feel I will be in good stead to be a finisher in PCCM after another 12 weeks. Thanks David.
Peter Williams, TAS, Australia.
David, having completed 10 weeks of your training program I wanted to let you know that I just completed Cairns to Karumba 2017 and loved the journey completing it easily and with no injury. I learned a lot through your training and learned so much more to add to on the road having never ridden in a pack before.
Mary Downie, TAS, Australia.
Best coach ever!! Thanks David for your great coaching, it has helped me improve immensely!!
Andrew Schep, VIC, Australia.
Hi David and crew, Just touching base as I have not trained since PCGC last year where I finished sub 9 hours due to your program. I have relied on the training for PCGC and it has carried me through till now. Our tri team has had great success this year winning Mixed masters at Mooloolaba, Mixed cat. at the Hell of the west, Mixed cat. at Tweed enduro and second in the mixed cat. at Byron Bay. I had some time off after Byron and I have noticed a slow drop in form and a slight weight gain to the delight of our local riding group. I recently obtained a three race licence and have raced in two crits. The first one I entered D grade as that’s where you start. I finished 1st so the next race entered B grade and came 3rd (got boxed in for the sprint) but had the legs. These are local club crits. I have started the new Road race two program. I am looking forward to improvements. I have been healthy not even a cold which I put down to being fit due to the training. I am still in remission from Prostrate cancer but you always have it in the back of your mind. It’s another reason and motivation to stay fit. I still look back from time to time on the achievement at PCGC and want to ride the Falls creek event and hopefully Gold coast next year. I hope to catch you at one of these rides. Thanks again Robert
Robert Partington, QLD, Australia.
Only done two of the efforts on the program and can really see how it works. On the second effort, I already felt stronger.
Dave Hilcher, Nundah, QLD, Australia.
Last week completed the “HillClimber II – Part 1” program.

This week I attempted my goal of climbing Humevale Hill (i.e. Strava Segment – “Humevale Climb from Bridge”). I use this ride as a benchmark of where I am with my training. My time was 20:04! I reached my Max Heart rate (151bpm) at the end of ride and AHR for the 20 minutes was 4 beats less than my Max Heart rate, so was satisfied that I put in my best effort.

This was a big PR and a significant step for my cycling. I can ride hills faster, my cadence and pedal technique has improved significantly, and my strength and strength endurance have improved. I bought my first bike about 10 years ago at 53, and this is easily the best I’ve ridden up hills.

The two main factors for my improvement on the hills were:
* Climbed more hills (Easy. Just follow the program).
* Lost 6kg (Easy. Sort of.. 0.5kg/week) Down to about 11-12% Body Fat and will lose another 2-3 kg in coming weeks.

A very satisfied recreational rider. Thanks David!

Note: A real surprise was the result of a VO2 Max test I had this week – 50.5 (Was tested about 6 years ago at 46.3). I didn’t think I was training this system much in the last 12 weeks but I guess if you climb enough hills you’re always going to come across the 8-13% gradients.

Jim Taylor, Alphington, VIC, Australia.
While holding 35+ km/hr on a road bike is comfortable on a mtb it’s hard work!

The event format I was entered in is a team relay, and as the seasoned cyclist in the team I was sent out first to tackle the stages, the others are seasoned mountain bikers and where amazing on super technical tracks that had me in pain during training, but the Gibbs road is non technical it’s just riding!

But later on in the event that a few things became clear talking with the other competitors.

They where all supremely fit, several high placing ironman athletes, marathon runners, xc mountain bike competitors who place highly. I spoke with them at the post stage beer tent. They said the issue was how comfortable I looked on the bike, it looked like I was on a Sunday stroll, it demoralised one of the guys as he figured it was pointless trying to keep up, I knew I was pushing hard and I was close to my limit riding, on the section he was referring to.

I put this all down to an unexpected benefit of the training, working on a smooth efficient power delivery, being comfortable on the bike and being able to maintain that smooth style despite being on the ragged edge, think about the guys you see who have blown up and the way they pedal, it looks horrible! But training means you can make it look effortless, and when your fellow riders are also on the edge the physiological impact of you looking smooth and untroubled can be the straw that cracks them rather than outright power.

Thanks for the training Dave, keeps paying off.

Spike Beecroft, Hamilton Hill, WA, Australia.
The training programs are really starting to hit the mark, I’m feeling lots of improvement in my cycling, thanks.
Peter Williams, Launceston, Tasmania, Australia.
Holy crap I feel my power building! I’ll do some mobilizers after weights tonight and recover tomorrow. Matt rocks. Love him! Glad to be back!
Shannon Bryant, Round Rock, TX, United States.
I’ve been happy with my progress through the first 4 weeks of the Hill Climber part 2 and am enjoying the “rest week”. I’ve noticed the pedaling technique that David talks about really helps on the hill climbing along with the increased focus on the cadence. My aerobic fitness has improved through this short period to date. I have two events I am aiming for later in the year- Peaks Cradle Mt and a 3 day 370km Charity ride, both of these will require improvements in my aerobic fitness and hill climbing.

Thanks David.

Peter Williams, Launceston, TAS, Australia.
I’ve now completed 5 weeks of the 12-week Hill Climber II Part One program. All going well so far. Main noticeable improvement is my ability to ride at a higher cadence (still a way to go though). The “002-E3 Strength Endurance” video Trainer session is ideal for achieving this. This session encourages a cadence of 100rpm to be applied not only to the intervals but also for the warm up, cool down and recovery periods. (I monitor the average cadence for each of these sessions). This is then easier to transfer to the road. It has had a very positive effect on my riding form and hill climbing and subsequently my riding efficiency.
I have also lost 3 kgs in this period and aim to lose another 3 before the end of the program. My ability to achieve my target goal of less than 20 minutes for Humevale Hill at the end of the program is somewhat unknown but that’s what makes it interesting. So far, so good.
Jim Taylor, Alphington, VIC, Australia.
Started off slowly in wk1 but once I got used to the 90-100rpm cadence concept, things really sped up and looked up. Went to Pt Mac and rode 50 of the 90k bike course and found it difficult but not daunting. Sooooo, all in all, training is progressing well. The form has improved 1000% and strength is also on the up and up. Thanks David.
Dean Cox, Corlette, NSW, Australia.
Thanks for your help in preparing me for the Masters TT. Thanks to your training I managed to hit my splits during the 20km ending right on my latest FTHR, with a gradual increase in Average HR and speed through each quarter. Remember I am 70 years old and only started cycling from a zero base 9 months ago. I have increased my FTHR 6.8% in 6 months, and my average speed in the NZ Masters of 28.9 kph to 31.5 kph in the World Masters. I am sure I have a lot more in me yet with your help.
Colin Craigie, Auckland, New Zealand.
I am nearly finished my 12 week training program. I have had some really good results lately, I got a first at the Rydal 7 hour, a third at the AMB 100 (I nearly got a second place but I had a bad fall) and I have just had a first place at the convict 100 last week. I’m feeling really good on the bike and I feel like my fitness has improved out of sight. In the convict 100, at about the 50km mark my legs came really good and I felt like I got a second wind. I started passing a lot of people at this point and felt like I was going faster while everyone else was slowing down.
Gwynn Le Maitre, ACT, Australia.
I’m amazed at how much better I feel on the bike. More importantly, though it has now crystallized all the information that Cycling-Inform has provided. I can now directly correlate pedaling technique, riding position AND core strength as interwoven facets of good cycling. Keep up the good work.
Martin, Cycling-Inform Client
I was very happy with the training program, I definitely increased my speed and I thought the Matt Brindle strength training was very helpful. I’ve had bad ITB issues in the past (which have required two long bouts of physio) but even though I increased my cycling volume massively I didn’t have any injury issues. I’m planning to continue doing the trainer sessions and the strength training as I seek to get fitter.
Paul, Cycling-Inform Client
I followed your regular training program to pretty much the kilometer… The training videos certainly made a noticeable improvement in my performance. Thanks!! The training was very intensive, however it was quite manageable.
Anthony, Cycling-Inform Client
This is the first time that I have followed a structured training program and ride plan and I actually found this both enjoyable and beneficial. Thanks for your assistance … this certainly helped with the unknown and ensured that I was able to set a suitable pace to see the ride through from start to finish.
James, Cycling-Inform Client
I’ve enjoyed the program very much. Riding at a cadence around 100 was new to me and took a while to get used to, but I feel it’s improved my riding considerably.
Steve, Cycling-Inform Client
Thanks for all your help. The 12-week training program and various tips on the website along the way were very valuable tools in helping me achieve what I feel to be a good result… (I certain have not gotten tired of telling people about it.)
Paris, Cycling-Inform Client